BLAINESWORLD #779, Section 2, part 2

Karen in North Carolina:

One of the best skits on Saturday Night Live.
Celebrity Jeopardy – Cruise, Sandler, Connery

http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/celebrity-jeopardy—cruise-sandler-connery/278291?auto=true

*********************************

Marie in New Jersey:

Keith – 98.6 (Original Stereo)

*********************************************

Rich in Pennsylvania:

Walter Murphy – A Fifth of Beethoven (from SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER)

***************************************

Vickie in Pennsylvania

Tom Jones – It’s Not Unusual

And an update:

Tom Jones Released from Hospital

After being treated in Monte Carlo, the singer “is now in very good health,” his rep says. For more information, please click:

http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20524842,00.html

*****************************************

Cecile in Pennsylvania:

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Soul To Squeeze (Music Video) w/ lyrics on description

*******************************

Michael in Pennsylvania:

Nudists Open Their Homes to Budget-Minded Travelers

Nudists who open their homes to budget-minded travelers take the intimacy of couch surfing to an extreme.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/01/garden/nudists-open-their-homes-to-budget-minded-travelers.html?pagewanted=1&_r=1&src=dayp

****************************************

This is the news I like to hear!

For the first time since the American invasion of Iraq, an entire month has passed without a single United States service member dying.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/01/world/middleeast/01iraq.html?smid=fb-nytimes&WT.mc_id=WO-SM-E-FB-SM-LIN-MPW-090111-NYT-NA&WT.mc_ev=click

**********************************

Devender in California:

Amazing [photo] capture–all about being at the right place at the right time.

A lightning strike gives a vivid backdrop to the iconic Eiffel Tower, while the Paris landmark is illuminated in vibrant blue lights. Amateur photographer Bertrand Kulik captured the shot

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/in-pictures-14745576

*************************************

George in Pennsylvania:

Speak Well, Earn More

Part 1 is on page 8:

http://www.upperbucksfreepress.com/ubfpaugust2011.pdf

Part 2 is on page 13:

http://www.upperbucksfreepress.com/ubfpsept2011.pdf

And:

Information on becoming a product demonstrator:

http://www.getproductdemonstrators.com/product-demonstrator-with-productions-plus-george-bruno/

****************************************

Cheryl in New Jersey (with a REQUEST FOR HELP):

Dear Friends & Family,

I am going home to New Jersey September 10th for the 2nd Annual Kicks for Clots: Kickball Tournament that I am organizing to benefit the National Blood Clot Alliance. In 2008, I became a member of the NBCA after I endured 3 DVTs (blood clots) in my right arm.

Sunday, November 4, 2007 I woke up the typical twenty-six year old with the mentality that I was invincible. About 10am, that all changed when my right arm suddenly swelled from shoulder to fingertips in one big “whoosh.” My hand turned purple. I went to an urgent care center who told me to come back in 24 hours if the swelling was still present. 5:00pm I asked my PT supervisor if I should work the following day. Her response: “It sounds like a blood clot, you better go to the ER.” 10:00pm the ER doctor tells me to see an orthopedist. After I insist that nothing is broken or injured, he orders an ultrasound and then sends me home despite me pointing out that my forearm is now orange with white spots.

2:00am I call my OB GYN, and she tells me to get to another ER “before I lose my arm.” Finally, Monday 7:00am I am diagnosed with 3 DVTs in my subclavian, axillary and brachial veins. It was a scary time that changed my life, and I feel so blessed at my outcome.

It took almost 24 hours to diagnose, as an urgent care center and a Hospital Emergency Room sent me home despite signs of lack of blood flow.

The NBCA has been a welcomed resource for me as they send newsletters and post articles that have answered some of my questions, or even just validated certain feelings physical or emotional post-thrombosis. NBCA provides education and community outreach on what the signs, symptoms, risk factors and treatment options are for blood clots. By organizing this tournament, I feel like I am giving back. In addition to my experience, I do it in honor of several important people in my life affected by blood clots:

My Uncle Peter from his chest port inserted due to Cancer
Cousin Becky who has a bleeding disorder
Cousin Jeff- reason unknown
Friend Joe due to driving from New Jersey to Florida without breaks (25 yrs old)
Friend Michelle from birth control and smoking (32 yrs old)

The U. S. Surgeon General estimates that more people die from a blood clot than from breast cancer, lung cancer, AIDS and automobile accidents combined! Most of these deaths are preventable, which is why it is so critical to raise awareness.

Many of us know someone who is affected by DVTs, but typically we do not think it will happen to us, especially younger people. My goal for “Kick for Clots” is to promote being active at any age while having fun, to share information regarding blood clots, and to raise a target amount of $10,000 to benefit the NBCA to improve healthcare and understanding in all phases of DVTs: prevention, diagnosis and treatment of the clot, as well as post-thrombotic management.

Please join me in this personal fight to Stop The Clot®! I invite you to show your support in person by joining my team to play and help raise funds to support NBCA. My personal goal is $1000, and I am 68% there! If you can’t show your support in person, please consider making a donation by visiting my fundraising page http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/cheryl-fishman/kicksforclots2011 or mailing a check to 204 Wellington Park Drive, Princeton, NJ 08540. Checks can be made payable to NBCA. Feel free to share this page with anyone you think would be interested in making a donation to Stop The Clot®.

For more information on blood clots go to http://www.StopTheClot.org

Thank you for supporting me!

Cheryl Fishman

********************************

Ruth in Pennsylvania:

Ruth Anne Wood the host of Live Your Peace took her in depth interview series with best selling authors, award winning artists, superstar entrepreneurs and community leaders to a whole new level. She invites the city of Philadelphia and global community to add to a daily “CHOOSE YOUR OWN ADVENTURE” story featured in her community and upcoming movie. Using her 70+ interviews and the http://www.LiveYourPeace.com/ project takes on an Oprah OWN contest like quality sharing awe inspiring ideas and stories around the world! The venue is online with 200,000 attendees at the Philadelphia Live Arts Festival & Philly Fringe from September 2-17th. Add your comments/ story to the adventure!

For more information, please click: http://www.LiveYourPeace.com/

****************************************

Art in Pennsylvania:

I enjoy reading your blog. Earthquake must have been quite the experience.

***************************************************

Donna in New Jersey:

Thought I would give LBI’s Surflight Theatre a plug:

Sunday I saw the female version of Neil Simon’s “the Odd Couple”. It was fantastic!! It starred Cindy Williams (Shirley of Laverne & Shirley) and Joanne Worley (Laugh-in) and both were fabulous…….they both have superb comedic timing that kept us laughing for 2 hours. The rest of the cast was first class…….and included June Gable(Estelle, Joey’s Agent on Friends).

I know the Surflight is having some financial problems & could use support to keep it going. I attend at least one show every summer and I’m never disappointed. Go to http://www.surflight.org/ for more information on future shows, etc. They also have Dinner & show combination tickets for groups.

********************************************

Ingrid in Pennsylvania:

Always enjoy the newsletter. You and Cynthia certainly enjoy your time in Asheville. Good Morning America voted it the top 10 places to visit and those interviewed ended up settling down there.

Enjoy the remainder of your time back here in the northeast and have a safe flight home. I am keeping the thought that we won’t get hit as hard as predicted. Our weather people have been wrong many times before.

************************************************

Maggie in Florida:

Glad your cholesterol is down. I guess that means you have cut out the chocolate chip pancakes …lol.

********************************************

Bob in North Carolina:

Yes [on use of links in newsletter]. I’m for anything that enables access to information by making it more readily available and/or easier to make use of. Links function in this manner and I think they’re a good idea.

**************************************

Maria in Pennsylvania:

re: F1 – I like the links!

Welcome back to the NE. Did you bring Irene?

******************************

Pat H. in Pennsylvania:

I think you need to include ALL links, comments etc in one newsletter. You only have people for the time they click on to your email. We all have lots of other sites, emails and links that we deal with. My suggestion is you keep things simple for your readers. For me I do not want to be bothered going to other web sites or trying to find links outside of your email. I guess since you are focused on your newsletter that you think everyone else is? Not sure.

For example. In this newsletter you listed the following:

For more information about any of the above, please click: http://wp.me/p1g9Ev-iq

Well sorry, but this link did not work in the email you sent me. So in order for me to view this I would need to copy, cut and paste your link to a new browser. Then I possibly lose the connection to your email by going to that site. So I lose the place of where I had reply notes to your email. Then I have to start all over. It’s a pain. So I just skip your links and neat stuff your friends may comment about. We’ve talked about this several times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

