BLAINESWORLD #764, Section 2, part 2

Jean in Pennsylvania:

My nephew, Jesse Ponnock!

*************************************************

Sarah in North Carolina:

Every once in a while American Idol does something right! This is one of those times.
‘O Sole Mio – Il Volo
A group of Italian teenagers Piero Barone (17), Ignazio Boschetto (16) and Gianluca Ginoble (16) aka Il Volo’s performance of ‘O Sole Mio during the American Idol show

*********************************************************

Love Endures Even Cancer

Make sure you click on the video.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/17/health/views/17cases.html/?smid=fb-nytimes

*******************************************

Chris in North Carolina:

HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAH!!!!!

Amazing Comedy Duo

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1ckXPT/www.shortform.com/jvarner/my/gamarjobat-amazing-comedy-duo

***************************************

Great video of a Spontaneous Victory Parade in Honolulu in1945.

Take a look at this video-absolutely fabulous! Notice the cars and jeeps, youth. The guys in khaki or gray shirts and black ties are Navy officers or chiefs. The rest are Army or Marine. How young they all were to do what they did.

This guy really captured a moment in history! (You can listen to Jimmy Durante singing “I’ll be Seeing You” in the background, too.)

This is a super video of a time past – we need to remember and be THANKFUL.

Check out the color fidelity. It’s not bad for 1945. Nothing will ever compare with Kodachrome film.
Great video of a Spontaneous Victory Parade in Honolulu in 1945.

Take a look at this video-absolutely fabulous! Notice the cars and jeeps, youth. The guys in khaki or gray shirts and black ties are Navy officers or chiefs. The rest are Army or Marine. How young they all were to do what they did.

This guy really captured a moment in history! (You can listen to Jimmy Durante singing “I’ll be Seeing You” in the background, too.)

This is a super video of a time past – we need to remember and be THANKFUL.

Check out the color fidelity. It’s not bad for 1945. Nothing will ever compare with Kodachrome film.

********************************

Ilene in North Carolina (with a REQUEST FOR HELP):

I wanted to tell you that I also saw “I Love You, You’re Perfect….” in New York twice. I really enjoyed that show. Also, my family will be coming to visit me soon. I have plans to take them downtown, the Nature Center (for my granddaughter), the Garden Center (by the Rueter Center), the Grove Park Inn, and the River Arts District. I also have chosen my favorite restaurants to take them. But, I was wondering if you think the Pisgah Inn is worth going to as far as food with a view is concerned. Also, it might be fun to see a theatre production somewhere but it would have to be something that a five year old might like. They are coming the last week in May into June. Do you know of anything that would be worth checking into?

*************************************************************************************

Ange in Pennsylvania (also with a REQUEST FOR HELP):

I wonder if there is some place for me to check for the names of other people who have purchased the Mannington 5″ plank engineered hardwood Caspian Brazilian Cherry floor and if they are having any issues with it?

Please respond to: angelamm1652@aol.com. Thank you.

*****************************************************************

Donna in Pennsylvania:

I sometimes love being a fly on the wall – don’t you? It’s fun to get a behind the scenes look at something that you might already own or be interested in owning. So, for a bit of fun I’d like to give you a backstage look at window treatments. I hope you’ll enjoy this interview with a custom drapery workroom – you’ll get the “what’s what” on customer window treatments from an insider’s perspective.

And if you didn’t get a chance to read last week’s blog, “Success Working with Multiple Contractors on a Design Project,” click:

http://interiorsbydonnahoffman.blogspot.com/2011/05/success-working-with-multiple.html

***********************************************************************************************

Ingrid in Pennsylvania:

What a beautiful area to take a walk [as seen in BLAINESWORLD #763]. You are a great ambassador for Asheville. It certainly has a lot to offer.

***********************************

Pat H. in Pennsylvania [asking about the Ambassador Program at Mission Hospital]:

Meaning you are going to be one of those hospital volunteers you see who wear the pink suit coat jackets? Or why then do you do this? Is Mission hospital one of the larger/better ones in the area?

ANSWER:

No, I don’t think you’ll see me wearing one of the pink suit coat jackets. And yes, Mission Hospital is one of the better ones in the area–if not the best. For more information, please click: http://www.missionhospitals.org/awardsrecognitions

****************************************************

Wes in North Carolina:

GREAT issue, Blaine! I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I especially enjoyed reading your review of Scott Treadway’s last performance at Flat Rock. He’s a brilliant performer and an enormous loss to our area.

I loved the photo of you and Cynthia walking along the lake.

I would really like to participate in the next Ambassador Program at Mission. Please help me find out about the next opportunity I’ll have to do so.

The Marlo Thomas book sounds great. I was a HUGE admirer of her father and of his work (now HER work) with St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. He was a class act, for sure!

As a fan of old drive-in movie theaters, I was intrigued by the cryptic reference in your newsletter to the following: The drive-in picture shows for free in Asheville, May 14-July 9. Could you send me details? What and where? I’m guessing this information got left out by accident.

ANSWERS:

On Mission’s Ambassador Program, for more information, please click: http://www.missionhospitals.org/ambassadors . . . the next program is slated to take place in Fall, 2011.

On the drive-in movie theaters, what I’m now doing (to save space) is to include a link at the bottom of all such posts . . . in case you or anybody missed it, please click: http://wp.me/p1g9Ev-8O.

***************************

Pat in California:

You are SO right about the grandparents’ [names] thing!

I am Meme [accents over both “e”s]–and I’ll be that to my foster children.

GREAT newsletter [and the jokes are always terrific] — as always! LOVE the pic of you and Cynthia and the walk/grounds!

Also:

My FAVORITE T.V. program is “The Good Wife”. I’m thinking with Arnold’s latest revelations (sigh)… those show writers may have a whole lot of new material…!

**************************

Roger in Pennsylvania:

Just like to tell you I enjoy reading your newsletters. It is a wonderful break from the normal junk. You have a refreshing perspective and you are always upbeat and positive.

You and your Beloved Spouse enjoy this wonderful spring weather. I see by the photo this time around you are both enjoying the weather and the natural surroundings.

*********************************

Natalie in Pennsylvania:

Just saw “The People Speak” on Netflix. Using dramatic and musical performances of the letters, diaries and speeches of everyday Americans, the documentary feature film THE PEOPLE SPEAK gives voice to those who spoke up for change throughout U.S. history. It’s amazing. I highly recommend it. For all those who are inspired by freedom lovers and justice seekers, it’s a must-see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

