BLAINESWORLD #815, Section 2, part 2

(1) George B. in PA: Clean, Sharp and Handsome [his newsletter]:
http://cleansharpandhandsome.blogspot.com/2012/05/clean-sharp-and-handsome-hair-cutting.html

(2) Declan S. in MA (with a REQUEST FOR HELP):

Dear Friend,

This year, I am helping save lives from cancer by taking part in the American Cancer Society Relay For Life, and I’m hoping you will support me. Each of us has our own reasons for caring about the fight against cancer, but it seems that we all know someone who has personally battled this disease.

My team and I have set a goal to raise at least $100 per person and I’ve set a personal goal to raise $2,500 Any donation you can make, large or small, will help me reach my fundraising goal and helps us reach the greater goal of saving lives from cancer!

Please use the link below to visit my personal web page to make a secure, tax-deductible online donation to the American Cancer Society. You can make a one-time gift, or increase your impact by donating monthly!

Thank you and I will keep you updated on my progress!

Click here to visit my PERSONAL page.
If the text above does not appear as a clickable link, you can visit the web address:
http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR?px=28307215&pg=personal&fr_id=36441&fl=en_US&et=n9T1Q749mib2kmEQdTYNLg&s_tafId=830562

Click here to view the TEAM page for Mount Washington House
If the text above does not appear as a clickable link, you can visit the web address:
http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR?team_id=1157519&pg=team&fr_id=36441&fl=en_US&et=-mpSU4tEG_njWFILtLqidA&s_tafId=830562

(3) Steve S. in NJ:  I am at Hamilton Honda omg! I never did anything like this in a great,busy place like this!

Please help me out by letting others know. We sold over 400 cars in April. I sold my first “Bakers Dozen” Ha Ha! My head is spinning and these car are great and with a free car wash and Free oil changes for life seem like everyone loves us.
My Best!
Steven Seidner
Client Advisor
Hamilton Honda
609 528 2600 ext 2202
(4) Pat H. in PA (responding to a review of  NATIONAL HEALTH LOTTERY: A NEW WAY TO FUND HEALTH INSURANCE in last week’s issue): First of all I a NOT a proponent of the Government running a health care system. We can talk about that for hours. But  take a close look at the VA medical system and I don’t think I need to say any more. Remember a few years ago how returning vets had to put up with deplorable conditions? The list of bad management at the VA goes on and on…

And if your writer thinks the govt could be involved in any tax free earnings programs he is dreaming.  See recent articles on how the GSA got in trouble for offering free tax incentives.
A lottery? Hmm.. I don’t play the lottery and know lots of people who don’t. And your writer assumes that all people already spend $ 20 a week on Lottery? And he thinks that all the sudden people who do play the lottery would now spend an additional $ 20 on a health care lottery funding system? I don’t think so. People don’t even have the money to pay for gas these days. And if there are people who do, this seems to be a program that promotes gambling for those who already have a gambling problem.
I think your writer needs to do some research into who currently gets Lottery Dollars. Those institutions that do would be the last ones to want to give up ANY lottery $s nor would want to compete with a Federal Govt lottery that may take money away from their programs. Many of our states are broke or close to being broke and they already receive HUGE dollars from Lottery that don’t make up for the shortfall. So none that I know of would want to entertain diverting or taking a hit on the Lottery $s they currently receive. In short your writer is suggesting that States basically give up lottery dollars for Health care. Sorry but I don’t think the local politicians would ever vote for a program that may jeopardize revenue they receive.
I haven’t done the math, but I don’t think your writers $s would add up to anywhere near the $s needed to fund such a health care system. Do you and your wife spend $ 20 a week on Lottery tickets? Look around at your inner circle of friends and think about who does and then apply that to his $ 20 a week formula. Even if its tax “free” I still don’t think that would motivate people to play.
And even if you think the Govt could run a health care system, remember Politicians would be grabbing and diverting funds for other non health care projects like they do with every program where money is involved.
So its nice to stand on a soap box and suggest that there are better alternatives without providing facts to back up what you say. England has a place for this. Its called Hyde Park.
MY TWO CENTS: Pat, as usual, makes some good points. And he may well get his wish about government not running a health care system;  i.e., if Romney/Obamacare gets struck down by the Supreme Court.
Also, mismanagement at any level must be dealt with . . .yet that said, in the case of private entrprise with a profit motive , the chance for abuse  is perhaps even worse . . . for example:
(5) Marty D. in PA (with an INVITATION): Longtime business reporter and ex-accountant Marty Daks is now reporting/blogging about business on WOR 710 radio’s homepage (wor710.com). Feel free to check out his updates and suggest compelling business stories (profiles, sources, etc.) in the NYC area and NJ. Some recent posts include:http://wor710.com/In-a-Down-Market-Commercial-Property-Owners-May-Fa/13100747

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BLAINESWORLD #815, Section 2, part 2

  1. Savannah says:

    I am nominating you for the “Sunshine Blogging Award” for creativity and inspiration. You do not have to accept, but felt you deserved it. I will feature a link to your blog on my upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

