BLAINESWORLD #824, Section 2, part 2

(1) Walt W. in PA [sharing a response he got from a friend in response to the computer warning in BLAINESWORLD #823]: Yes, it is true   BUT,  like everything on TV – it is Bullsh*t
– the US government wrote a couple viruses that attacked the middle east (especially Iran’s nuclear program computers)
This virus leaked into the public domain – DUH !
– The virus evolved to cause router problems redirecting traffic to the infected web portals
Now the US government is scaring everyone into running a free and easy “test” program that actually is a method of getting every household to register with the US government.
– This happened TWO YEARS ago and the odds that Comcast or Verizon has not contacted you about an infected router are about zero.
– And as usual – it takes the American news media about two years to hear about what is NEW

Bottom Line – relax, Comcast or Verizon would have already taken care of this.

Response: That refers to what Comcast and Version did. but the reality: a lot of folks probably missed such response. I checked the site that I gave, and it did NOT require any registration on my part. Before I posted the information the newsletter, I checked it out–and I’m glad that I did.

(2) why didn’t you suggest for Cynthia to go see “Magic Mike” with some girlfriends….. with you, she probably couldn’t “let go”!!! So you say Cynthia didnt seem to like the film….. I can’t wait to see this movie, WITH MY DAUGHTER OR FRIENDS, NOT MY HUSBAND. And why woud “you” want to see this movie? (unless you’re waiting for the right time to come out of the closet) It would be embarrassing for my husband to sit in a theatre and watch this……. (yes, I used to go and see male strippers years ago)……. loved it!!! let’s test your memory! do you remember those days in the mid 80’s???

 (2) Barbara F. in PA: Why didn’t you suggest for Cynthia to go see “Magic Mike” with some girlfriends…..  with you, she probably couldn’t “let go”!!!  So you say Cynthia didnt seem to like the film….. I can’t wait to see this movie, WITH MY DAUGHTER OR FRIENDS, NOT MY HUSBAND.  And why woud “you” want to see this movie?  (unless you’re waiting for the right time to come out of the closet)  It would be embarrassing for my husband to sit in a theatre and watch this…….  (yes, I used to go and see male strippers years ago)……. loved it!!!  let’s test your memory!  do you remember those days in the mid 80’s???

Response: I’ll be curious as to your reaction. As to why I saw it, I tend to watch (and often enjoy) many different kinds of movies–appealing to both men and women, as well as to men and women individually. But this one . . . I just didn’t find it particularly interesting. With respect to the mid-80s, I do recall my parents telling me about that era . . . or maybe it was my grandparents?

(3) Ingrid S. in PA: Always enjoy the newsletter. I was curious if Donna and Ed, your new neighbors, are from the area or transplants? Seems like many people are finding Asheville their place to call home.

Hope you are staying cool since I see we are all trying to get through this heatwave. Stay cool!

Response: Donna and Ed are from New Mexoco. It seems that most of the folks who live in this area come from some other place. As for keeping cool . . . .that’s why they invented air conditioning! (Can you blieve there was a time without it?)

(4) Larry S. in PA: The truth is more evident that we are not created equal, instead we are created equally unequal! — Larry Steinhouse

and, also, check this informative blog posting from Larry:

Should I Let The Bank Take My Home?

http://www.larrysteinhouse.com/about/should-i-let-the-bank-take-my-home/

(5) George B. in PA: Read my new column BRUNO’S HAPPY HOUR on PAGE 15. I have been writing this column for a couple years now. It’s not everybody’s cup of tea, but you may like it. [It can be found on page 15.]
http://www.upperbucksfreepress.com/ubfpjuly2012.pdf

(6) Rita O. in NJ: Thought you might enjoy this and like to share it? Its NC info, but quite universal – and written by my son – Danny Olinsky.

Why to Work for a Startup

http://triangletechtalk.com/1/2012/07/why-to-work-for-a-startup/

(6) Terri L. in NC: Shrub pruning season almost over


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

