BLAINESWORLD #871

Section 2, part 2

1. Tom S. in PA: Take The Personal Finance Quiz That 86% Of Americans Flunked

http://www.businessinsider.com/take-this-personal-finance-quiz-2013-5

(2) Alyson M. in CO: Thanks for the sweet acknowledgement of Augie–and the great idea for a Father’s Day gift (the Jewish Jocks book)!!!

BTW: I rarely have time to share book reviews but Don and I are both voracious readers – as you are too. Have you read The Orphan Master’s Son? Amazing fictional view of North Korean life told through the eyes of one soul – youth to adulthood. Unlike anything I’ve ever read before. Also, we’ve been burning through all of Louise Erdrich’s novels. She is an Ojibwa Indian – French -American writer from MN – s gifted storyteller.

Response: Since I’m not “big” on holding books . . . and since you’re the first to mention it,  . it’s yours. Just send me your snail mail address. Thanks, also, for the recommendations.

(3) Kaleo W. in IN: Thanks so much for the mention in your newsletter about my workshop, Discover Your Own Dance of the Heart through Traditional Hawaiian Hula, in Plainsboro NJ on June 15th. I always enjoy reading your newsletter with how you always have so much to share – and how wonderful to be able to be part of this one. Many blessings!

(4) Debbie H. in PA: 10 SEO Tips for 2013
http://www.forbes.com/sites/dansimon/2013/05/09/10-seo-tips-for-2013/

(5) Marleen N. in NC: I would like to solicit your help regarding cell phone service. Everytime I turn on the TV and my computer or pick up a magazine you hear Straight Talk and other pre paid services that save you a lot of money. My cell phone bill runs 3X what straight talk does. Is my service 3X better????? Please tell my what you think? I’ve talked to several people who have straight talk and they seem quite satisfied. I would like to hear your opinion if you have one. Are the prepaid plans the new way for cell phones Or am I getting ready to make a huge mistake.

(6) Laura B. in NJ (with a question at the bottom of the email):  We are still unpacking boxes from my former home to the storage space.  I tackle about 4-5 a month due to space restrictions here.  But I found piles of your news letter that I had printed out so I could add books and movies to my growing list of what I want to read/watch.  Some date back to when you were dating your bride and still teaching at BCCC.

However, several times I have tried to find books that you have read at the library but might have to purchase one or two through Amazon.  One is “The Official Guide to the Second Half of Your Life” by Bill Morton.
I have found that the my local library is a wonderful resource for books and especially for DVDs and even VHS tapes.   Our local library is very small but can borrow from over 80 libraries throughout Morris County.  And my new hobby seems to be exploring through the on-line catalog.  Sometimes, looking up one book or movie leads my down another path such as all works by a certain author or all movies starring a particular actor.  Many of the libraries have free showings of current movies such as “Guilt Trip”.  Most even serve drinks and popcorn.
Last week I saw three videos that I would recommend:
“Hallelujah” is a BBC comedy series that features a small group of female Salvation Army officers sent to poor areas in and around London.  They run into some very funny characters in the area as well as funny adventures and the actresses are very good themselves.  The set consists of two discs, one for each season they were on.
I also enjoyed a Hallmark presentation based on the Mitch Albom book about his visits with the rabbi who helped him through his Bar Mitvah and who asked him to write his eulogy.  The other man is a minister in Chicago’s Southside who was an ex-con and his congregation were gleaned from the dregs of the area. I think it is called “Keeping the Faith”.  It is very good.
The last one is a Swedish movie called “As it is in Heaven”.  Of course it has subtitles.  It is about a symphony conductor who returns to the small town he left as a child to get better musical training in the city.  His presence profoundly affects all the people living there.  The movie is really good.
Then I finally got to see “Anna Karinida”.  It was quite artistically done.  I assume you saw it so you know what I mean.
Do any of your readers know good resources for discounted Broadway tickets either online or by phone?
My response: I mentioned playbill.com and http://www.tdf.org/TDF_ServicePage.aspx?id=56 . . . if you know and/or use any others, please let me know, and I’ll share with both Laura and other readers.
(7) Carol A. in NC:  I enjoy “your world” especially some of the jokes!

**********************

Section 12A, NC events

(1) Steven T. in NC: KISS ME KATE

Opens Friday June 7th at Asheville Communty Theatre
 
We’re rowdy and ready to roll out the boldest Kiss Me Kate ever staged! A quick reminder of setting and plot: producer/actor extraordinaire Fred Graham (played with pitch-perfect bravura by John Hall) stages a musical version of Shakespeare’s Taming of the Shrew and casts himself as Petruchio and his erstwhile lover Lilli Vanessi as Katherine (played by Wendy Morrison with a fearsome ferocity). Oh my, the sparks fly.In an explosion of creative genius, Cole Porter created this musical theater masterpiece. We humbly invite your participation.Tickets are available online, at ACT’s box office (828) 254-1320, and, if you really want to role the dice, at the door.I play Baptista, father to Katherine and Bianca, and basically stay busy dodging verbal barbs and flower pots.Check out my actor profile on Asheville Community Theatre’s blog for a glimpse into a corporate refugee trying his hand as an actor/singer on Asheville’s theater scene.Best wishes,Steven Turner

(2) Blue Ridge BBQ & Music Festival June 14 & 15th

Chuck Beattie w/ Jim Perterman Revue
Main Stage – Friday June 14, 5:45-7pm

Chuck Beattie Band
Main Stage – Saturday June 15, 2:30-3:30

http://www.blueridgebbqfestival.com/music/

(3) The Caro Savanti Experience will be performed at the Bebe Theatre (20 Commerce St. in downtown Asheville) July 11-13 and 18-20. Low-Priced Preview performance ($8) on Thursday July 11; opening night Friday, July 12; performances July 13 and 18-20 at 7:30 p.m., with late shows on July 19 and 20 at 9:30 p.m. Tickets $15, $12 for students and seniors with valid ID. For more information or to purchase tickets, visit http://www.themagnetictheatre.org.
(4) 

(5) Luke Arrington: Come see The Importance of Being Earnest at Hendersonville Little Theatre! June 14th-30th. For a preview, please click:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Psld-kwAjNU

(6) Major M. in NC: Friends – I am a huge fan of Nina’s writing classes.  Out of the eight of us who took this class a few months ago, seven of us have just returned for her Level 2 class – and the 8th person is out of the country or I bet she would be with us.

Do it if you can.  Majo
Hello Asheville writers! I have a few more openings in my upcoming class:
WRITING FROM THE TOP OF YOUR HEAD.A writing class for beginning through advanced writers.
Facilitated by Nina Hart.
Writers! Do you want to generate a ton of fresh new material? Are you experiencing writer’s block or feeling stuck in a rut? Do you want to learn to easily tap into your creative genius? Have you always wanted to write but have been too afraid to start?
Participants will be guided, in a criticism-free environment of support and safety, to “open the tops of their heads” to access their inner voices without censoring or judging. Through evocative writing prompts, 15-minute “timed writes”, and lively class readings and discussions, the inner hooligan and nonsense-maker will be given room to shine and shout. This wild place is most exciting! We will have loads of fun!
When: 6 Monday evenings, June 10th – July 15th, 2013 – 6:30-9 pm.
Cost: $140
Location: Asheville NC
Enrollment limited to 10 writers.
For more information phone Nina, 828-254-3586 or email woofey@cybermesa.com
(7) Gary G. in NC: SPOON RIVER ANTHOLOGIES35 BelowJune 15 at 2:30 p.m.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

