BLAINESWORLD #874

Section 2, part 2

(1) Rob L. in NJ: Thanks for crop pictures!

(2) Traci M. in NC: Love today’s history lesson!!

(3) BJL in NC: The photos are definitely better in this issue using the new cropping tool.

(4) Pat H. in PA: Nice stuff in the newsletter but it seems your focus is on things in and around Ashville….Just what hit me.

Response: Section 1 used to be about Bucks County/NJ when I lived there. But yes, the first part is now mostly about Asheville. But Sections 2-11 remain applicable to anybody.

(5) Julien in MD.: I LOVE old pics!!!  Thanks for sharing.

(6) Dave M. in NC: Great post Blaine, friday  was pretty special for me as I caught a glimpse of you in downtown Asheville. Always cool to see the stars out and about in Asheville.

(7) Arlene S. in PA: Women of the Wall

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Women-of-the-Wall-Nashot-HaKotel/319876005672?ref=stream&hc_location=stream

Torah Reading Barbie wants you to write Letters to PM Netanyahu and Donate to Help Women of the Wall
Write letters: http://womenofthewall.org.il/tell-pm-netanyahu/
Donate: www.jewcer.com/womenofthewall
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151680179675673&set=a.10150113502355673.303560.319876005672&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf

(8) Marty D. in PA:

Happy birthday–but as you approach your 7th decade, in fine shape, I quickly add; I fear your memory may be starting to show some wear and tear.Case in point– your funny joke about the guy and the beautiful woman in the supermarket– Item #9–
A guy goes to the supermarket and notices a beautiful woman waving at him. He’s rather taken aback because he can’t place where he knows her from. So he asks, “Do you know me?” . . . She says, “I think you’re the father of one of my kids.” . . . Now his mind travels back to the only time he has ever been unfaithful to his wife and asks, “Are you the stripper from my bachelor party that I made love to on the pool table with all my buddies watching while your partner whipped my butt with wet celery?” . . . She looks into his eyes and calmly says, “No, I’m your son’s math teacher.”
I’m sorry to have to point this out, but it’s a retread!You last used it in Feb. 2007http://www.blainesworld.net/newsletter/02.26.2007_543.aspAnyway, I guess this proves that we DO read your missives faithfully!Response: Marty is correct (as he often is); i.e., that I did use this joke previously–something that I try to avoid doing. However, what was different this time was the fact that I included a picture. That’s something I’m trying to do more often, and when I do, I think it improves the quality of the joke. And so be prepared from time to time to see a joke used again if and when I can find an appropriate picture to go along with it.
(9) Tracy G. in NC: This is so fun…  Thank you for including me!
(10) Bob P. in NC: I just finished a nonfiction book that you might like.  It’s not baseball or sports at all, but nonfiction reads are relatively rare for me.  It’s called To Conquer the Air by James Tobin.  It’s about the gradual, sustained effort to creat a machine that would allow man to fly.  It begins in the late 1800’s and goes on through to the early 1900’s.  There are a number of historical figures involved in different ways, and it is really quite a good book.  I’d never realized that Alexander Graham Bell was involved with the search for understanding of the mechanisms of flight.  He was a great believer in the tetrahedral kite.  The Wright Brothers, of course, are prominent in the story, but it is not completely about them.  It might be one that you would enjoy.
(11) Jessica Melore in NY: More Than an Office Visit: Why Patient-Doctor Relationships Matter
(12) How to deal with migraines:
(13) D Anthony in MD: Used dryer sheets are great for removing dust and assorted debris from furniture, blinds, fixtures, mirrors, electronic devices, etc. Now here’s a few other uses for those ever handy dryer sheets…(Thanks Stacie for the share.)
Great Uses for Dryer Sheets
1. Use in your bathroom. Cut your cleaning time in half. Makes bathroom mirrors and fixtures sparkle. Cuts right through bathtub scum.
2. Use to get sticky dust right off furniture, blinds and baseboards.
3. Cleans up stove tops and greasy cabinets quickly.
4. Soak paint brushes with warm water and a dryer sheet. Watch the paint come right off.
5. Clean dead bugs off your car.6. Wipes pet hair off furniture and clothing.7. Run a dryer sheet over thread before sewing to keep tangles away8. Keeps mosquitoes away.
Note: I checked with D Anthony, and he said he has used the sheets for removing dust with great success. I’m now curious about the part about pet hair and will have to give it a try.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

