BLAINESWORLD #913 (Please send any comments to: bginbc@aol.com.)

Section 2, part 2

(1) Elizabeth P. in NC: Loved the 1 A (1) pix of you and Cynthia in Charlotte.

(2) Marty S. in PA: These Are Some of the Best Lines I’ve Ever Heard.

http://www.ba-bamail.com/Content.aspx?emailid=9164&memberid=825649#.UzF0I5v540U

(3) Bob P. in NC: You need to read a non-fiction book that I have just finished called Why Nations Fail by Daron Acemoglu and James Robninson.  I’m returning it to the library this morning.  It’s one of the best things I’ve ever read on economic / political / historical analysis.

(4) Sharon B. in NC: I remember you saying that you had a basal cell carcinoma removed recently so when I saw this article, I thought you’d want to see it.

I hope this offers you something exciting to try. Sure beats repeated surgeries!
(5) Natalie K. in PA: Watched Robot and Frank last night.  Enjoyed it very much. It was touching and funny and held our interest.  Not slow moving at all, with some interesting twists and turns
(6) Deborah A ScannellA large body of my landscape work [photos taken in the Southern Appalachian Mountains and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park] that is guaranteed to lower your blood pressure. Sit back and relax. It is produced in 1080 HD, so view on the best screen you have and enjoy!
(7) Suzanne W. in NC: Please consider donating to help make Buncombe County a NO KILL community.  Donations can be made on imATHLETE at the following website:
**********************************
Section 8, Technology Tip
Thanks, Doug Burak, at Bucks County Community for allowing me to reprint the following that applies specifically to Bucks–but has relevance for any computer user:
ON THE BEHALF OF THE TLTR DATA SECURITY AWARENESS TEAMDear Colleagues,As you may have heard or read in the media, there have been a variety of cyber scams and data breaches in the news recently – from Target to Neiman Marcus to the University of Maryland. Data security and your own personal identification information (PII) are at risk, which is why we’d like to take this opportunity to remind you to: Stop. Think. Connect.
Bucks County Community College, like every other organization, is not immune to various types of data security fraud. Our biggest issue, however, is the now common practice of “phishing.” If you are not familiar with the term, it is when someone pretends to be an entity you are familiar with (like the College) and then asks you to give them your personal information (username/password, for example). When someone is successfully phished, it wreaks havoc on our systems to the point where our email server – in some cases – must be shut down due to the amount of spam the phished user unknowingly is sending out. (We are talking about tens of thousands of spam emails.)
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT BUCKS COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE WILL NEVER ASK YOU FOR YOUR LOGIN CREDENTIALS VIA AN E-MAIL OR WEB FORM. NEVER. You should not share your BCCC username and password with anyone with the possible exception of identified and appropriate personnel from Information Technology Services (ITS). Again, ITS will NEVER ask you for your username and login information via the web.If you are unsure of the contents of an email or you suspect that it is fraudulent, please the BCCC Helpdesk at helpdesk@bucks.edu or 215-968-8191. They will be happy to assist you in determining whether it is authentic or a fake.
And, please remember to:
• Never share your credentials/personal information with anyone – particularly via email or text.
• Be careful of emails that ask for money or send you to suspicious websites. Don’t click links within emails you don’t recognize.
• Password protect your mobile devices (phones, ipads, laptops etc.) in the event they are stolen or lost.Data Security is Everyone’s Responsibility. Protect the College and yourself by practicing safe cyber habits.Sincerely,Rodney Altemose, Upper Bucks Campus
Doug Burak, ITS
Georglyn Davidson, Online Learning
Owen Forrest, IT Academy
James Sell, Lower Bucks Campus
Liz Sette, Technology Learning Center

*********************

Section 11, Thought for the day

Unconscious coupling (a Facebook post)
by Emily Shaules*

7929 emily shaules

Am I the only on applauding Gwyneth Paltrow and Chris Martin for their conscious uncoupling? Haters in the press are going on and on about their separation and how divorce is tough and they are delusional for striving to make the process as love-filled and conscious as possible. Well, I for one love it and believe it is an indicator that we are moving to a more open and honest place regarding adult relationships in society.

I have been married and I have been divorced and it sucked. But it didn’t suck because that is how all divorces have to be, it sucked because of my beliefs and how I looked at the situation. I believed that I had failed. That I was a bad person with a black mark on my record because I couldn’t stay in a lifelong relationship with someone who wanted different things from life than I did. That I was an embarrassment to my family because I wanted something different than the lifestyle I was raised in and unconsciously taught to want. But through that process, I learned to go for what I want in this world no matter what anyone else thinks and that has led me to some pretty amazing places in my life, some experiences that I never thought I would ever get to have.

My divorce sucked because I believed that my husband was the only man who I would ever love like that. Little did I know at the time that the Universe is always expanding and getting better for us, so it meant that there were people out there who were better for myself and my ex than we could have ever been for one another (he is now happily remarried with twin sons and I am in the best relationship of my life:)

My divorce sucked because I believed no one would ever want me again. At the time of my divorce, I was 32 years old, overweight, and on 25 pills a day for fibromyalgia, ulcerative colitis, depression, insomnia, etc. I smoked pot almost every night to combat the constant pain I was in and I could only work about 10 hours a week. Needless to say, I was not Mother or Wife of the Year material nor was I what anyone in their right mind would think of as a “catch”. At times, I thought it would be easier to stay with someone who had promised to love me forever and take care of me than to be alone the rest of my life. But what I didn’t realize then was that I had to let go of that life to truly be myself. Sure, there have been some scary times because of that decision but they are nothing compared to the good that has been a result. And that leap of faith paid off big time by bringing me to my boyfriend, Lucas.

The story of how Lucas and I met and got together is epic in and of itself and is the basis for the screenplay I am currently writing. But to sum Lucas up- he is ridiculously positive and dedicated to health and longevity; he is sexy and helped me realize and bring out my Scorpio side; he has supported me in following my acting ambitions like no one else in the world, and he has always agreed that we take it one day at a time in our relationship.

I believe that the idea of saying Forever with someone is really unnecessary and setting people up for unrealistic expectations. Notice that all the reasons my divorced sucked were because of my beliefs. I was taught divorce sucked, so I made that my experience. Now I know I can have and deserve better and so that is my experience. I ask for what I truly need and trust it will be ok. I have told Lucas the deepest, darkest and scariest things about myself and each time, he responded by telling me how much he loved and respected me for being open and honest with him. I have asked Lucas to go out to a meal with another man because I felt a spark and he blessed me in doing that because he is so secure that things are always working out for us both (and as soon as I was there, I wanted to run home to Lucas:) Freedom leads to deeper intimacy because when you can be completely honest, you can truly know that other person and that always seems to lead to deeper love.

No one knows what is going to happen in the future, and to allow and even encourage the people you love the freedom to grow and change (even if you risk that they will grow away from you and towards something or someone else) is the only sane way of loving someone that I have tried. Lucas and I say to each other, “I love you now” because that is the only thing we can know for sure.

If and when Lucas and I part (and believe me, we have discussed that possibility), I know it will be a conscious uncoupling. It will be us releasing each other for bigger and better things. Yes, of course it will hurt- but it will not suck because we will be doing it with our eyes and hearts open. We will always be friends and in each other’s lives, just in a different way. And we will both find love again.

So congratulations to you, Gwyneth Paltrow and Chris, for having the courage to separate in a mindful way. Yes, it is not possible for everyone to part in this way but I think it is an ideal to strive for. I invite the haters to go inside themselves and see if they think their own relationship could part in such a way, and if not, why? The strongest relationships are those who are willing to go deeper and they are the only ones worth having, in my opinion.

* Reprinetd with Emily’s gracious permission. She is a former attorney-turned-actor who lives in Asheville, NC. Her email is eshaules@me.com.

*********************************************

Section 12A, NC events

(1) 7922 event cynthia wants to go to

(2) Man and Superman at the Masonic temple downtown:  Thurs.-Sat. at 7:30 and Sunday at 2:30, the next 3 weekends.

(3) Jerry Crouch in NC: Asheville Community Theatre’s 69th Season Reveal!

(4) Southern Appalachian Repertory Theatre: Join us for A TASTE OF SART on Sunday April 13 at 7pm in Owen Theatre. We will have excerpts from the upcoming season featuring both MHU students and SART regulars. Bradshaw Call will also present the second installment of original recipes for a new season as Julia Child. This event is free and open to everyone.

We hope to see you there!!

If you have questions, please contact Jennifer at Jammons@mhu.edu.

(5) 2 upcoming FREE seminars:

(1) Selling in the 21st Century
Saturday, March 29 from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.
ABTech Enka Campus
1459 Sandhill Rd.
Small Business Center, Room 2046
Candler, NC

This FREE seminar covers modern selling strategies and techniques. Old style “high-pressure” sales doesn’t work anymore. We will introduce you to the right way to present yourself and your product.

Seating is limited, and we will not be accepting registrations at the door, so click the button on the bottom of this page to register.

Doors open at 8:30 AM.  The seminar begins at 9:00 AM SHARP. Please arrive at least 15 minutes early to handle paperwork.

This seminar is sponsored by: Home Trust Bank

Seating is limited, and we will not be accepting registrations at the door, so click here to register:

https://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/eventReg?llr=ebiggxcab&oeidk=a07e8o3bjwjb3cf28ad

(2) Basic Internet Marketing

This FREE seminar covers you can use Internet Marketing to find opportunities and customers.

How can social media can improve your online visibility? How can social media strengthen branding and increase sales?

Wedneday, April 2
ABTech Enka Campus
1459 Sandhill Rd.
Small Business Center, Room 2046
Candler, NC

Doors open at 5:30 PM.  The seminar begins at 6:00 PM SHARP. Please arrive at least 15 minutes early to handle paperwork.

This seminar is presented by Sarah Benoit

This seminar is sponsored by Evolv LLC

Evolv LLC provides responsive (mobile-friendly) custom website design & development, responsive (mobile-friendly) custom e-newsletter design & development, consultation, and training. We work mostly with small businesses who want an effective, professional-looking site that is easy-to-use and edit on their own. Just contact us at http://www.evolv.com or 828-581-0190 for a 2-hour free consultation or web review. GROW your business into something better, SOLVE every challenge, and EVOLV.

Seating is limited, and we will not be accepting registrations at the door, so click here to register:
(6) Last Show of the Season. Asheville Vaudeville won’t be back until September! Don’t want to miss this one!Saturday, April 12
Toy Boat Toy Boat Toy Boat Community Arts SpaceAsheville Vaudeville is excited to welcome back Sneaky McFly as our special guest emcee! We have a night of burlesque, comedy, music, magic, dance, and physical arts.
This show will feature:
April Le Queen
Elizabeth Evans & Glenn Reed
Tristin Spits Vitriol
Catalina Mystique
Rigel Pawlak
Ezekial Adams
Corr de Joch
Stray Cat and Alana Davis
Paul Van Heden & Kudra Robbins
and Valerie Meiss & Ian MooreShowtimes 7:30pm ($15) and 10:00pm ($12)
Toy Boat Toy Boat Toy Boat Community Arts Space 101 Fairview Road, Asheville.
18+ Tickets at the door.Not to be missed!
(7) Vocal Blast Benefit Concert. The Performing Arts Laboratory, a production company, home of Vocal Blast, and a voice/acting studio, is proud to announce their upcoming benefit concert ‘Songs We’ve Heard’ Saturday April 5, 2014. This is a one night only concert with no tickets, just a donation at the door for admission. Held at Abernethy UMC on Patton Ave. (Patton’s Pumpkin Church).Vocal Blast is a community, all volunteer show choir started in 2012. Our mission is to raise awareness and funds for performing arts through performance and scholarship programs such as the JPW Schierhorn Education Fund for Asheville City Schools. In two years we have help 8 benefits donating thousands of dollars to performing arts in our local school programs. This benefit is split between the JPW Schierhorn Educational Fund, a therapy dog for Miss NC USA- All Star – Taylor Loven, and the Abernethy UMC’s music programs,‘Songs We’ve Heard’ is a collection of songs from our past. Vocal Blast’s age range is from age 14 to 70 years of age, so the spectrum is from Duke Ellington to Disney songs. Also the award winning barbershop quartet, Supersonic, will be performing as well as the ‘Gems’ from Asheville Dance Theatre.Vocal Blast’s ‘Songs We’ve Heard’ Saturday April 5, 2014For more information about the Performing Arts Laboratory, please visitwww.AvlPALab.org.(8) Barbara Brady: Please join me for a talk I’ll be giving: “The Illusion of Control”, about how our desire to control can hurt us, our relationships, and keep us feeling trapped and less able to live life fully. You’ll learn some keys to release control’s control over you, 😉 resulting in happier relationships, more peace of mind and freedom.Where: Unity of Asheville,  www.unityofasheville.com130 Shelburne Rd, Asheville, NC 28806   (828) 252-5010(9) FLAT ROCK PLAYHOUSE PRESENTS LAUGHTER ON THE 23rd FLOORFlat Rock, NC (3/29/2014) – Flat Rock Playhouse presents the classic Neil Simon comedy, Laughter on the 23rd Floor, from April 3-19 at The Clyde and Nina Allen Mainstage.

Inspired by Simon’s early career experience as a junior writer for Your Show of Shows, the play focuses on Sid Caesar-like Max Prince, the star of a weekly comedy-variety show circa 1953, and his staff who maintain a running commentary on the writing, fighting, and wacky antics which take place in the writers’ room. The harried writing staff frantically scrambles to top each other with gags while competing for the attention of star madman “Max Prince.” Along with The Odd Couple this is considered one of Simon’s most enduring comic masterpieces.

The show is directed by Michael Kostroff. Kostroff is a television and stage actor, best known for his five seasons on HBO’s smash hit, The Wire, and for his guest appearances on dozens of TV shows including The Good Wife, Louie, Banshee, Blue Bloods, Damages and the upcoming Gotham and The Black Box. He’s toured in The Producers and Les Miserables, appeared at Goodspeed and Paper Mill, and understudied for Broadway’s The Nance, starring Nathan Lane.

Cast members are Scott Treadway, Bob Ader, James Beaman, Adrienne Griffiths, Gary Littman, Michael MacCauley, Nick Santa-Maria, Amy Toporek and Ben Rosenbach.

Scenic design is by Dennis C. Maulden. Lighting design is by Stephen Terry. Sound design is by Bryan Delaney. Costume design is by Ashli Arnold.

TICKETS AND SCHEDULE

Allergy Partners of Western North Carolina presents Laughter on the 23rd Floor at The Clyde and Nina Allen Mainstage at Flat Rock Playhouse, April 3-19.  Performances will be Wednesday through Saturday at 8:00 pm; matinees Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday at 2:00 pm.  All tickets are $40 and can be purchased by calling the Playhouse box office at 828-693-0731, toll-free at 866-732-8008 or online at www.flatrockplayhouse.org.  Discounts available for seniors, AAA members, military personnel, students and groups. The Clyde and Nina Allen Mainstage is located at 2661 Greenville Hwy in Flat Rock, NC.

***********************

Section 12B, PA/NJ events

(1) Dr. Scarpati to host weekly self-hypnosis and mediation seminars. For more information, please click:

These seminars were also featured in the following article:

http://www.theintell.com/life-style/local-entertainment/spreading-positivity/article_b693e37c-8e1e-5dda-a20a-d6e627f4d6c9.html

(2) Jeff Baumeister: Hey, If you’re free on April 19th at 8:00pm…

CD Release Concert in Gateway Auditorium, Bucks County Community College.
For the first review of the above, please click:
(3) Popular local singer, songwriter, storyteller, and longtime PCYH friend. He is known for his deep, soothing and powerful voice, which reaches down to the bottom of the heart and body to stimulate rich and varied sensations, emotions and thoughts.Singing for Our Souls – Sing Along 
Saturday, March 29, 2014 at 8:00 pm 
“Singing For Our Souls,” with David Brahinsky and Friends this year will feature the songs of Pete Seeger and the Weavers to commemorate Pete’s life in folk music and in getting people to sing along at his concerts. We bring the song sheets and we all sing together.
David will bring his friends along to sing and play with him which may or may not include: Nalani and Sarina Bolton, Jen Sherry, Kai Altair and others.
At Princeton Center for Yoga & Health, Orchard Hill Center88 Orchard Road
Skillman, NJ.
***************************
Section 12C, National events
(1) Nancy C. in NC: A while back, I sent you a preview of a new movie called e-Motion that was in production and you expressed an interest in seeing the movie and sharing it with your readers. I thought you’d like to know that the movie is in free preview now, so anyone can watch it for free for the next 2 days. I hope you can pass along the word about this and share the info with your readers.
E-Motion is about the connection between our emotions and the pain and illness in our bodies.
Another movie is also in free preview called “2nd Opinion” which is about the suppressed medical information about Vitamin B17 and its ability to heal cancer.
Here’s the link for both:
Thanks in advance for sharing this important information with everyone!
Note: You can view the above link through March 31.
(2)
Ziglar Newsletter
Hello Blaine,I have something special for you.On Tuesday, April 8, at 2PM CT, Seth Godin will be joining us for a special Ziglar Legacy Series online webcast.During the webcast, Seth and I are going to explore the keys to success in every part of your life.  We’re going to drill down to the specific steps you need to take to live an inspired, deliberate, and meaningful life.The best part is that I’m holding a free spot for you on the webcast.  All you have to do is register to let me know that you’ll be joining us.Click here to register and claim your spot.**This is just the beginning…**My webcast with Seth Godin is the tenth of the Ziglar Legacy Series which features today’s leading experts who have been influenced by my dad, Zig Ziglar.  They will share how Zig impacted their lives, plus the top 5 proven success strategies anyone can use immediately to positively impact their personal and professional lives.Your registration today reserves your spot for the upcoming webcast **and** future webcasts as well.So, go ahead and register to claim your spot before your day gets too busy.Click here to register and claim your spot.  All the best,Tom ZiglarZiglar.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

