BLAINESWORLD #951 (Please send any comments to: bginbc@aol.com.)

Section 2, part 2

(1) What to Do When Your Financial Adviser Retires
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/12/13/your-money/financial-planners/when-your-financial-adviser-retires.html?module=Search&mabReward=relbias%3Ar%2C%7B%221%22%3A%22RI%3A5%22%7D

(2) Roger C. in PA: I recall a couple of years ago, or maybe a year ago – Sometime around or about this time you started holding up your thumb in photographs.

Now, I notice you do it every time and all times in all circumstances and situations.
Do you remember Carol Burnett?   She was a well know TV personalty and had her own show.   She always tugged on her ear.  She eventually revealed it
was her secret way of saying hello to her aged mother.
I do not know why you put your thumb up and my curiosity wants satisfaction:   Why do you do this constantly and always in every photograph taken?
 Curious minds want to know.
Happy Hanukkah.
Response: Yes, I have been doing this in most pictures. or at least I try to do so. (Sometimes, it gets blocked out.)

And yes, I do remember her doing that on the Carol Burnett show, though didn’t know the reason behind it.
As  for my reasoning . . .  guess it is Because I’m having a thumbs up experience when being pictured?
And Roger then got back to me with this email, which I very much liked:
My curiosity is sated –   you are simply telling the world you are happy, pleased and content in the setting you are pictured.   The power of positive thinking and action.
(3) Rhoda Weaver (with a REQUEST FOR HELP): My name is Rhoda Weaver and I’m a singer with dreams of touching the world through music. I have the opportunity to do a good, quality CD and I don’t want to let finances stop me from accomplishing that. There are many expenses associated with going into the studio. I started a campaign several weeks ago to raise the money to do this. However, a donor who had helped me reach my goal by giving a large contribution, had a change of heart. There are definitely no hard feelings. But because things didn’t go as planned, I need the help of kind people like yourself to actually reach my goal this time. I was going to give up but some of the people helping to facilitate this project encouraged me to try again. So here I am again asking for your help to achieve my dreams. Whatever size contribution you can make will be greatly appreciated and will be used to make this CD project come to life. Thank you in advance for any and all support.Note: Please click the link below to hear this fantastic singer and, also, to join me in supporting her efforts:
http://www.gofundme.com/iq8fqg?fb_action_ids=4862991588003&fb_action_types=og.shares&fb_ref=fb_g_my_t&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B859130097452096%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.shares%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%22fb_g_my_t%22%5D
(4) Marcie F. in PA: Thanks for this wonderful humor filled newsletter.

I laughed till I cried. All the best to you and yours in the new year.
(5) Amy S. in NC: I’m supporting the person. I support the approach he took to get healthy! And I am in the video! I love Prama Wellness and the man running the center, Ramesh,  is a brilliant and loving person.
Our IndieGOGO campaign ~ please donate what you are able and help spread the word. We value your support and appreciate your help.https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/fixin-to-live-one-man-s-race-to-beat-diabetes/x/9051675

Fixin’ to Live: one man’s race to beat diabetes
The dramatic, true story of filmmaker MaxPaul Franklin’s race to beat diabetes naturally
(6) Ruth P. in NC:  Great reading [BLAINESWORLD #950]–even though I liked Pride and you didn’t.  We could do Siskle and Ebert thing.

Thanks so much for including a bit on David Novak being on page 42 or the Our State Magazine.  Every comment and mention helps.
Many thanks for all you do for the entertainment and business community.
(8) At Voice Charter School in Queens, Students Have Outperformed Their Peers Academically
http://www.nytimes.com/2014/12/20/nyregion/at-voice-charter-school-in-queens-students-have-outperformed-their-peers-academically.html

****************

Section 12A, NC events

(1) Zuzu Welsh Band and Friends:

New Years and Happy Birthday Denise

Wednesday, December 31 at Brewskies in Fairview
at 10:00 p.m.

and:

Saturday, January 3, 2015 at 8:00pm
The Odditorium
1045 Haywood Rd, Asheville, North Carolina

The Zuzu Welsh Band and two other bands to be named bringing the rock and roll. This is basically CD Release Reboot show, so come out, get a copy of The Road Less Traveled, rock out and enjoy some great music.

(2)

ALO West Side Story Banner

April 24 & 25, 2015 – 8:00 PM
April 26, 2015 – 3:00 PM

 


event buy tickets

Through a story of hidden romance and tragedy, tensions rise and fall in this classic American musical admired and loved by many. Leonard Bernstein’s West Side Story, is a readaptation of William Shakepeare’s Romeo and Juliet, set in the 1950’s in Manhattan, NY. The Jets, an “American” street gang, and the Sharks, a group of young Puerto Ricans face off in an attempt to mark their gang’s territory.

Tickets: Adults $30-$58, Students $17-$40

(3) 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

