BLAINESWORLD #1032 (Please send any comments to: bginbc@aol.com.)

Section 2, part 2

(1) Chanah M. in MO: This is an FYI post. For years I have had legs that shake and joints that crack at night and jolt me awake. I am told its hereditary. Doctors just laugh and say get something OTC for it, which of course never works. Watched a video by the PT the other day and she said put a bar of soap between your sheets and sleep with it. Don’t know why it works but it does. She said even those who work out too hard and are sore, it works. So I put a bar of ivory in one of my thin summer socks and put it in bed with me. So far 5 nights of restful sleep and didn’t wake up once to my legs and hips hurting.

(2)

(3) Inside the mermaid economy

http://www.fastcompany.com/3050847/most-creative-people/inside-the-mermaid-economy

(4) Emily S. in NC: What a great night!

(5) Pat H. in PA: I have a varidesk too. Great product! Helps with keeping your back in shape too.

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)  When a Child Thinks Life Is Unfair, Use Game Theory

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2016/07/05/when-a-child-thinks-life-is-unfair-use-game-theory/?action=click&module=PopularOnFacebook&region=Lists&pgtype=collection

(10) Ask Well: Taking a Daily Aspirin

(11) Marilynne H. in NC: I’m sorry I couldn’t see the play in person but wanted you to know how much I enjoyed watching it on Youtube.  Your approach to live is very much in the Jewish tradition — making the world a better place, each person at a time.  We need more Blaine Greenfield’s!

(12) Lavelle O. in GA: Ken and I watched your video yesterday.  It was great fun…
However, Ken and I were both,particularly impressed, with the number of people who came out to see it. Ken said he didn’t even know that many people!  You have created for yourself a new chapter in Asheville, which is enviable. You appear to be so involved, so content with Retirement and seem to have immersed yourself in life! Not so easy for everyone, we have to work at accepting the new and charting paths.
Perhaps, you should consider writing a book for those who are stepping into a new phase after children and career. A lot has been written, however, I meet so many who struggle after the noise stops!
Congratulations on your play, but more so for your overall success in this chapter of life. What’s next?

(13) Steve D. in CT:   Great little play about you. We didn’t know each other in HS, but it is nice to see the positive impact you have on the lives of others and to see all the love around you. It seems to me that you are doing what you have been designed to do, and as a result I’m sure you feel  joy and fulfillment – at least periodically.

Well done.

(14)

 (15)

(16) Chuck F. in NC: 1000% awesome.  Very funny tribute to the man who gives so much to the arts, to the city, to the people.  Sarcasm and comedy…what a great way to define you. … Bottom-line, sir. That was very funny.  What a thrill for you.

(17) Chuck F. in NC: Can you spread the word about our house as a “Fore Sale By Owner”?  here’s the poop, all the poop, and nothing but the poop on the house.

This is the link toi the site on forsalebyonwer.com
and here is more poop:
*Soaring ceilings and plentiful windows welcome bright sunlight.* 7 rooms:
3 beds, 2.5 baths, including an office/sunroom and a loft overlooking the light filled and open living room. Back yard deck and Zen Garden.

Minutes from Trader Joe’s, Harris Teeter, Fresh Market, Ingles, delicious dining and UNC Asheville. Minutes from Beaver Lake and The Audubon Bird Sanctuary. Path to Greenway and Beaver Creek. Quiet neighborhood. This home at 5 Stuart Circle is at end of a cul de sac

Washer, dryer, dishwasher, electric stove/oven, and microwave included.
Remodeled kitchen. New Furnace, A/C, 2013, water heater 2014.

Home is valued by independent source at $341,750. Asking $334,900. *Like
others sold in our 15 home neighborhood, this one will not be available for very long.

Contact Chuck Fink, chuck@mwwasheville.com <chuck@mwwasheville.com>
828-713-2112, or Cindy Berryman-Fink at berrymanfink@gmail.com
<berrymanfink@gmail.com>, 828-713-4810

 

fink2

(18) Norm K. in FL: Very nice!

***************

Section 11, Thought for the day

My friend, Emily Shaules, write an interesting blog that I always read. You can join my by signing-up at:
http://www.shiftbars.com

In particular, a recent piece caught my attention. She has graciously given me permission to share it below:

“Life without a friend is like death without a witness.” Spanish proverb

Last week, I told you all about my gig with the Sheriff’s Department. Well,something happened after I left their offices for the last time that I will never forget.

I was hauling ass from Hendersonville to my acting studio to film a commercial audition that was due within the hour. Going about 60 mph across the Bowen Bridge (pictured below), I was rehearsing lines in my head when I saw a man standing on the side of the bridge.

His image is forever seared into my mind–about 60 years old, wearing a red T-shirt and a red baseball hat. I did a double take and noticed that he was on the outside of the railing.

And then he wasn’t.

It wasn’t a dramatic nosedive, it was a simple step off the ledge.

And I couldn’t believe it.

I found myself rationalizing that he must have been bungee jumping, or that there was a ledge below the one I could see…that there was some explanation for what he did.

I immediately called 911 to report it. I later called the police department to see if I could get an update, but they couldn’t give me any information.

Later that day, I found out the man had not survived. And even though I feel very strongly that (a) we are eternal beings, (b) there is no such thing as death, and (c) he is in a much happier place, I lost it.

It was very much an out-of-body experience as waves of grief, guilt and disbelief passed through me, coming out as heaving sobs.

For even though I knew that it happened in a matter of seconds and that there was nothing I could have done, I blamed myself. I told myself I could’ve slammed on my brakes on that busy bridge and talked him over to the other side.

You see, my time at the Sheriff’s Department had me asking myself if I could ever be a first responder – like a police office, EMT or firefighter.

Boy, did I get my answer.

When I woke up the next morning, however, I realized I got a lot more than that:

First , I felt a mountain of gratitude for all the wonderful people in my life who knew about the incident and checked in on me. At first, I thought they were overreacting, like what I had witnessed wasn’t as big a deal as everyone was making it out to be.

But that was the shock talking. I did need that support. I had never witnessed a death before and as much as my mind was telling me I was fine, my body obviously was taking it much harder. So I allowed myself that time to grieve and process, and I’m so glad I did.

Second, I felt so much appreciation for all the first responders out there,who risk their lives to be there for people in their time of need. I know now I could never do what they do day in and day out. What courageous souls.

Third, I found a new-found zest for life. Maybe you can relate, but there have been times in my life when things seemed so hard that I asked myself if I really wanted to go on. After seeing that man jump, my answer became crystal clear – I have a lot more living to do!
Finally, I got back to my knowing that all is well and that he is at peace. I actually felt him come to me when I was back in my happy place. Being able to witness his transition so he wasn’t completely alone, and make sure his body was found so his family can have some closure, made my pain worthwhile.

I know this isn’t a typical blog post, but thank you so much for reading it. As I said in the title, transitioning from the physical to non-physical plane is the ultimate shift. I wish we humans didn’t make death into such a traumatic experience, considering we all go through it eventually.

So don’t wait – tell someone you love them, start that project that’s been lingering in your mind, begin a healthy habit that will make you feel better in your body.Live your life fully. In doing so, you will honor the man I saw who was in too much pain to do so himself.

Please share your thoughts and feelings about this week’s post on our Facebook page. I’m truly curious to know …

All my love,
Emily

 

9249 shaules article

*******************************

Section 12A, NC events

(1) Join the Jeff Thompson Giving Trio on July 16, 8pm at the Grey Eagle, 185 Clingman Ave, for a funk, jazzy, pop rock, soul quenching evening of fresh classic grooves, original compositions that delightfully showcase Thompsons astral four octave vocals. The trio brings creative innovation to every stage by combining melodies and rhythms with poetic musings, adventurous storytelling and stellar guitar skills. Thompson is joined by local multi-faceted musician and producer Aaron Price on keyboards (who also writes music in the new trio) and local drummer James Kylen. The Jeff Thompson Giving Trio will also be joined by some very special guests that will involve horns, adding to the sonic brilliance of the evening. The concert will be filmed for a future video so audience enthusiasm is encouraged. There will be special pricing for merchandise packages involving cd’s, a poetry book and t-shirts. Tickets are $12 in advance/$15 door available in advance by visiting thegreyeagle.com.

(2) David Wilcox and Peppino D’Agostino at White Horse on Fri 7/22 at 8 p.m.
White Horse Black Mountain, 105 Montreat Rd., Black Mountain, NC

Over 30 years ago, David Wilcox launched his musical career right here in Black Mountain at the legendary McDibbs music venue. While a student at nearby Warren Wilson College, Wilcox began playing at McDibb’s and quickly became a crowd favorite. After a fortuitous night opening for Livingston Taylor, David decided he wanted to make music his life. And a successful musical life that continues to be.

We are thrilled to have David back in Black Mountain where he got his start and look forward to a most memorable evening as he is joined by acclaimed guitarist Peppino D’Agostino.

David Wilcox released his debut album The Nightshift Watchman in 1987 on Jerry Read Smith’s label, Song of the Woods, also based in Black Mountain. He began touring regularly. After performing at the Bluebird Cafe in Nashville, he signed with A&M Records in1989. After his contract with A&M expired in 1994, Wilcox continued to write songs, tour and release albums. In 1994, he performed at Carnegie Hall with thirty other singer-songwriters in a showcase event.

Wilcox also appeared on the cover of Acoustic Guitar which described him as James Taylor combined with the “husky breathiness more reminiscent of the late Nick Drake” and said he was the “best known of the brilliant crop of singer-songwriters to emerge in the late ’80s.”

In the next decade, Wilcox continued to release albums, including Into the Mystery in 2003. He’s been a guest artist at guitar workshops. His lyrics are sometimes of the “probing meaning-of-life” type. as well as “thought-provoking”. Wilcox plays acoustic guitars made by Olson Guitars. Hisfingerstyle style which is similar to Nick Drake and Joni Mitchell uses open tuning extensively, often in combination with customized capos with notches cut out to allow lower strings to ring open. He’s been featured in Performing Songwriter magazine on five occasions.

 **********************

Section 12B, PA/NJ event

BETRAYL at Langhorne Players
Spring Garden Mill, Tyler State Park, Route 332, 1440 Newtown-Richboro Rd., Newtown, PA

Director: Carol Thompson
Producer: Hans Peters
Asst. Director: George Hartpence

Cast:
Emma: Sarah Stryker, Princeton, NJ
Robert: Brian Kelly, Doylestown, PA
Jerry: Frank Falisi, Freehold, NJ
Waiter: Marco Newton, Yardley, PA

Show Dates: July 15, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 30

Inspired by Harold Pinter’s own real-life clandestine affair, Betrayal begins in the present, with the meeting of Emma and Jerry, whose adulterous affair of seven years ended two years earlier. Their reminiscences reveal that Emma’s husband Robert (who is also Jerry’s close friend) knew of their affair all along and, to Jerry’s dismay, regarded it with total nonchalance. Thereafter, in a series of contiguous scenes, the play moves backward in time, from the end of the Emma-Jerry affair to its beginning, throwing into sharp relief the little lies and oblique remarks that, in this time-reverse, reveal more than direct statements, or overt actions, ever could. “Betrayal is a play that happens twice, once in front of your eyes, once in your head, when you revisit certain scenes…” ~The Conversation

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

